Wanting to, Needing to, Having to…..

I wanted to be an editor or a journalist, I wasn’t really interested in being an entrepreneur, but I soon found I had to become an entrepreneur to keep my magazine going

Richard Branson

When we set goals we generally categorise them into things we want to do or things we need to do…but what if we instead put the title of things we HAVE to do?

Needing and wanting to do mostly give us inspiration and probably about 50% commitment. They’re mostly ‘nice tos’ or things we’ll get round to doing when we can.

When we have to do something you can bet that we’ll give 100% commitment and just get on with it; no excuses!

Just think of the terminology we use in life: “I want to own my own business”…”I need to spend more time with my family”…”I want to lose weight”…”I have to pay the credit card bill”…”I have to get that assignment done by tomorrow” (The last 2 are mostly when we’ve left things till last minute…but you bet they get done!)

take54u today and turn your want tos and need tos into have tos

What's your opinion?

